Pas de texte d'altération de l'image

Longue durée

Grâce à son efficacité de 10 heures, vous ne devrez pas réappliquer MAXI-DEET aussi souvent que vous le feriez avec un dosage plus faible.

Pas de texte d'altération de l'image

Protection contre les insectes vecteurs de maladies

Idéal pour se défendre contre les moustiques, les chiggers, les puces, les moucherons et les tiques dans les zones à forte densité d'insectes.

Pas de texte d'altération de l'image

Protection maximale

Compatible avec la crème solaire Sawyer Stay-Put et peut être utilisé en tandem avec la perméthrine Sawyer pour une protection ultime contre les éléments.

Questions fréquemment posées sur les produits

Le DEET protège-t-il contre les mouches ?

Parfois oui, mais la plupart du temps non. Si les mouches sont un problème, nous recommandons d'utiliser le répulsif topique Sawyer 20% Picaridin. La picaridine est beaucoup plus efficace contre les mouches que le DEET, surtout à 20 %, ce qui est plus élevé que les autres formules de picaridine disponibles sur le marché.

Le DEET risque-t-il d'abîmer mes vêtements ou mon équipement ?

C'est tout à fait possible. Le DEET ne devrait pas endommager le coton, la laine ou le nylon. Ne pas appliquer sur ou près de l'acétate, de la rayonne, du spandex ou d'autres matières synthétiques, des meubles, du plastique, des cristaux de montre, du cuir et des surfaces peintes ou vernies, y compris sur les automobiles.

Puis-je porter un répulsif avec un écran solaire ?

Oui. Nous vous recommandons d'appliquer d'abord la crème solaire. L'astuce pour une application confortable et efficace de la crème solaire consiste à l'appliquer dès le matin ou au moins 10 minutes avant l'exposition au soleil afin qu'elle soit entièrement absorbée par la peau. Notre crème solaire FPS 30 est une formule à base de liant qui la rend très perméable à l'air tout en restant très efficace. Pour en savoir plus sur cette formule, consultez le site sawyer.com/sunscreen/

Dois-je utiliser une lotion ou un spray répulsif ?

En raison de la manière dont elles ralentissent l'évaporation du DEET, les lotions durent toujours beaucoup plus longtemps que les sprays à des concentrations de DEET comparables. Les sprays ont l'avantage de pouvoir être appliqués sur les vêtements. Les sprays restent efficaces beaucoup plus longtemps sur les vêtements que sur la peau. Comme les répulsifs agissent comme une barrière de 3″, les applications sur les vêtements peuvent souvent protéger 6″ de peau exposée et réduire considérablement l'utilisation sur la peau. Notre meilleure recommandation : un produit topique sur la peau et un spray à la perméthrine sur les vêtements.

Pourquoi m'a-t-on dit de "prendre au moins 30 % de DEET" pour les moustiques responsables de la malaria ?

La raison pour laquelle on vous a dit d'acheter un produit contenant au moins 30 % de DEET est que c'était le cas dans les anciennes directives. En clair, plus le pourcentage de DEET est élevé dans une formule donnée, plus la protection contre les insectes est longue et efficace. Jusqu'à l'introduction de l'insectifuge à libération contrôlée de Sawyer, nous aurions recommandé l'insectifuge Sawyer Maxi-DEET® 100% DEET pour la peau. Les gens confondent souvent concentration et dosage. Des "dosages" plus faibles de 100% DEET ou de DEET mélangé à une lotion à libération contrôlée ou même à une lotion standard fonctionnent mieux que les sprays à base d'alcool. Cependant, la vraie question n'est pas de savoir quelle quantité de DEET vous utilisez au départ, mais quelle quantité de l'ingrédient actif, le DEET, est disponible à tout moment (même des heures plus tard) pour repousser ces méchants moustiques.Répulsif pour la peau avec technologie à libération lente - L'insectifuge à 20 % de DEET à libération contrôlée de Sawyer utilise une encapsulation sub-micronique pour emprisonner le DEET. Un insectifuge efficace et de longue durée pour une utilisation sur la peau est une technologie à libération lente qui maintient le répulsif sur la surface de la peau beaucoup plus longtemps que d'autres formules. Cela permet une absorption plus lente et une efficacité prolongée contre les insectes piqueurs. La formule de l'insectifuge à libération contrôlée de Sawyer offre ce type de technologie dans une formule à la fois efficace et très agréable à utiliser.

Ressources produits

Aucun élément n'a été trouvé.
Arrière-plans montagneux décoratifs
Sawyer trois gouttes d'eau icône

Plus grand que les pistes

Puisque ce que nous fabriquons permet de sauver des vies, nous pensons que nous avons l'obligation morale d'aider le plus grand nombre de personnes possible. 140 partenaires caritatifs nous aident à distribuer nos filtres à eau, offrant ainsi ce dont chacun d'entre nous a besoin pour rester en vie, de l'eau propre, à des personnes du monde entier. C'est l'âme de notre entreprise. Une cause à laquelle nous nous consacrons chaque jour.

en savoir plus sur sawyer impact
Trois enfants utilisent un filtre Sawyer dans le cadre d'un projet international.
Drapeau du Liberia

Libéria

Trouver en magasin

Texte du bouton

Des produits qui ont une raison d'être

La protection que nous offrons permet de sauver des vies. Littéralement. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que nous soyons des fanatiques des tests et que nous nous consacrions à la création de produits que personne d'autre ne peut égaler.

Sawyer Standard
MAXI DEET Insectifuge
MAXI DEET Insectifuge
Une femme applique de la crème solaire à sa fille, qui boit de l'eau à partir d'un filtre à eau Sawyer.
Image Instagram montrant une maman en train de randonner avec son bébé attaché à elle.

MAXI DEET Insect Repellent

For heavy insect biting conditions, sometimes there is no replacement for the effectiveness of 100% DEET.

Full Product Description

Ideal for use on exposed skin in areas of extreme bug density, low-odor MAXI DEET bug-repellent from Sawyer Products offers up to 10 hours of protection against mosquitoes, ticks, chiggers, fleas, and gnats and the diseases they carry.

In addition to applying to your skin, MAXI DEET can be used on mosquito nets, head nets, and clothing. Use in combination with Sawyer Permethrin Spray for full body repellency. Offering DEET in its pure form (98.11 percent active ingredient), Sawyer MAXI DEET gives you more control on how much you apply and requires fewer re-applications (compared to other lower-dosage DEET aerosol sprays). MAXI DEET is also less bulky and weighs less than other DEET aerosol sprays.

STATS AND SPECS

Filter Material

Longevity

removes

protection from

Mosquitoes, chiggers, fleas, gnats, and ticks

sweat resistant

liquid volume

4

 oz

HEIGHT

6.5

 inches

width

2.5

 inches

length

1.88

 inches

filter Weight

0.9

 oz

This item is not sold publicly. Contact us for details.

Contact Sawyer
Find in Stores
Button Text

Long Lasting

With its 10-hour effectiveness, you won't have to reapply MAXI-DEET as often as you would a lower percentage dosage.

Protection from Disease Carrying Insects

Ideal for defending yourself from mosquitoes, chiggers, fleas, gnats, and ticks in areas of extreme bug density.

Maximum Protection

Compatible with Sawyer Stay-Put Sunscreen and can be used in tandem with Sawyer Permethrin for ultimate protection from the elements.

Frequently Asked Product Questions

Does DEET protect against flies?

Some yes, but mostly no. If flies are going to be an issue we recommend using the Sawyer 20% Picaridin topical insect repellent. Picaridin is much more effective against flies than DEET, especially at 20% which is higher than other Picaridin formulas available on the market.

Will DEET ruin my clothes or equipment?

Quite possibly. DEET should not damage cotton, wool, or nylon. Do not apply to or near acetate, rayon, spandex or other synthetics, furniture, plastic, watch crystals, leather and painted or varnished surfaces including automobiles.Be sure to read the labels, and if in doubt try a sample on an obscure surface area and check it after 24 hours of exposure to DEET.

Can I wear a repellent with a sunscreen?

Yes. We would recommend applying the sunscreen first. The trick to a comfortable and effective application of sunscreen it to put it on first thing in the morning or at least 10 minutes of sun exposure to help it fully absorb into your skin.Our SPF 30 sunscreen is a bonding base formula which makes it very breathable while still very effective. You can learn more about this formula at sawyer.com/sunscreen/

Should I use a lotion or spray repellent?

Because of the way they slow down the evaporation of the DEET, lotions always last considerably longer than sprays of comparable DEET concentrations. Sprays have the advantage of being able to be applied to clothing. Sprays remain effective much longer on clothing than on skin. Since repellents work as a 3″ barrier, clothing applications can often protect 6″ of exposed skin and significantly reduce your usage on skin. Our recommendation: DEET lotion on skin and Permethrin spray on clothing.

Why was I told to “get at least 30% DEET” for malaria mosquitoes?

The reason you were told to “get something with at least 30% DEET” is because under older guidelines this was true. Simply put, the higher the percentage of DEET in a given formula, the longer and more effective the protection from insects. Until the introduction of Sawyer Controlled Release Insect Repellent, we would have recommended Sawyer Maxi-DEET® 100% DEET Insect Repellent for the skin. People often confuse concentration with dosage. Lower “dosages” of 100% DEET or DEET mixed in a Controlled Release lotion or even a standard lotion work better than alcohol-based sprays.As an added measure, you may still consider 100% DEET for times of extreme bug density. However, the real question is not how much DEET you start out with, but how much of the active ingredient, DEET, is available at any given time (even hours later) to repel those nasty mosquitoes.Skin repellent with Slow Release Technology–Sawyer Controlled Release 20% DEET Insect Repellent uses sub-micron encapsulation to entrap the DEET. An effective and long lasting insect repellent for use on the skin is a slow release technology that keeps the repellent on the surface of the skin much longer than other formulas. This provides for slower absorption and extended effectiveness against biting insects. The Sawyer Controlled Release Insect Repellent formula provides this type of technology in a formula that is both effective and very comfortable to use.

Product Resources

No items found.

Our trusted retailers

Picaridin Insect Repellent

Picaridin Insect Repellent

Our newest and most popular insect repellent for your skin, Picaridin is safe for use on the whole family and does not harm clothing and gear.

View Item
Controlled Release Insect Repellent

Controlled Release Insect Repellent

Let your skin do the work with our 20% DEET Controlled Release Technology. This formula releases DEET over a longer period of time extending the duration of its effectiveness.

View Item
Ultra 30 DEET Insect Repellent

Ultra 30 DEET Insect Repellent

A time release insect repellent lotion, the ULTRA 30, uses a liposome base, which is more often found in cosmetics. This ingredient makes our 30% DEET formula both very comfortable and very effective on skin.

View Item
Permethrin Fabric Treatment

Permethrin Fabric Treatment

Odorless after drying, Sawyer Permethrin Fabric Treatment can be used to treat a variety of fabrics like clothing, gear, and tents. A successful application of this insect repellent treatment is effective against mosquitoes and ticks for 6 weeks or 6 washes.

View Item

Bigger than the trails

Since what we make is life-saving, we believe we have a moral obligation to help as many people as we can. 140 charity partners help us distribute our water filters, offering what each of us needs to stay alive, clean water, to people all over the world. It’s the soul of our company. A cause we dedicate ourselves to each day.

Learn more
Three children use a Sawyer filter as part of an international project.
Liberia
Liberia

Find in Stores

Button Text

products with purpose

The protection we make saves people’s lives. Literally. No wonder we’re fanatics about testing and dedicated to creating products no one else can match.

Sawyer Standard
A woman applies sunscreen to her daughter, who is drinking out of a Sawyer water filter.
Instagram image showing a mom hiking with her baby strapped to her.
Click and drag